What is Vedic Astrology?

In the West it is often called Jyotish, Hindu astrology or Indian astrology. The origins of Jyotish are lost in the mists of time, but is thought to have originated between 5,000 BC-10,000 BC from the Vedantas, along with Yoga and Ayurveda and the great spiritual teachings of such works as the Bhagavad Gita.

The great sages of that time in India put together the knowledge of the Vedic period. This was passed on through oral traditions for countless generations.

Jyotish is said to be the Eye of the Vedas. It is a means by which our Maker has made it possible for us to illuminate our lives.

For this reason it is very much a spiritual science. It can show the soul’s progress towards liberation or Moksha through the cycle of rebirth. This lifes karma set to unfold for this life.

The astrological birth chart shows the exact karma that the soul has chosen to experience in this life to continue its evolution.

How is Vedic Astrology Different to Western Astrology?

One of the main differences between the two systems is in the way the charts are drawn up. The Vedic system uses the Sidereal or Fixed star system, whereas the Western astrologers adopted the Tropical or Moving star system. At around 0 BC the two systems were in unison, but since then the Tropical system has moved away from the Sidereal position of planets, by more than 23 degrees. This means that a chart drawn up by a Western astrologer will vary by 23 degrees compared to one drawn up by a Vedic astrologer. The Vedic Sidereal chart gives the accurate position of the planets and is not subject to movement. This can have quite significant effects on interpretation. For example, a Tropical chart of, say, 13 degrees Leo ascendant with the Sun in Virgo at 3 degrees, will become in the Sidereal system, a  20 degree Cancer ascendant. with the sun in Leo at 10 degrees. These differences can be profound and can lead to different interpretations. Western astrology of course has great merit in its own areas of expertise, and is considered to be the cousin of Vedic astrology.

Generally the outer planets of Uranus, Neptune or Pluto or any other meteorites are not used by Vedic astrologers.

The Vedic system though spiritual, is also a very useful tool for self -development as well as looking at the more practical elements of life. Such things as psychology, relationships, wealth, career, health, desires and understanding your life purpose are all part of your spiritual journey according to Jyotish.

Vedic astrology is an accurate spiritual science, as it uses the ACTUAL scientific location of the planets of your birth in your chart. This means that many of the people who have had their chart cast in the Western system will have a different chart in Vedic Astrology. They won’t be in the Sun sign they thought they were.

Jyotish Has a Wealth of Tools to Use for Interpretation.

The astrological birth chart itself as well as :

  • Divisional charts that each cover specific areas of life such as marriage, children, career, parents, siblings just to name a few.
  • Planetary periods called Dasas.
  • Nakshatras – Lunar Mansions of the Moon.
  • Yogas – Planetary combinations that give strong indications of karma to come to fruition in this life
  • Transits

All of these tools when used together will give an accurate indication of your psychology, events, capabilities and more challenging areas, relationships, creativity and more.

Jyotish will help you to understand the timing of the karmas to come into your life so that you are more informed, repared and able to make choices where possible.

Find out what is involved in a Vedic Consultation HERE

Find out what is involved in learning about Vedic astrology in a
Vedic Astrology  Course HERE

astrology readings and learn astrology